Book Update: Eep!

I signed up for a service called QueryTracker on Thursday, and sprung for the Premium level because it allows me to see where my queries are sitting in the queue, exactly and approximately. From what I gather, it’s the queue as filled by other QT users. Which means, I might be getting an email soon:

eep

My query is highlighted in yellow. The red frowny faces are outright rejections.

#39 was apparently what’s informally known as the “Craigslist Dating Profile Pic” because, whoa, that’s some hardcore rejection right there!

Also, I tried to keep my active queries to 7, but now I’m at 9, and would do it again in a heartbeat. I get it that one should not spray-fire queries all over the literary agency world, but on the other hand, what am I doing, exactly? Saying not to query agents for a book you’ve poured your heart and soul into is like telling someone who is unemployed to cool it with the job applications. I’ll cool it when I get an offer of representation, how bout dah?

/went there
//pours ice water on my head

Annnyway… I’m trying to stay focused on Book Two while I do the wait-and-see thing with Book One.

No pressure…

(Seriously, I feel like I’m in that waiting room scene in Beetlejuice.)

Leave a Reply

