Thoughts About “Wonder Woman”

I bought into the hype this weekend and saw the new Wonder Woman film. I won’t spoil it to death here, but I will say ZOMG go see it now now now, and that goes for everyone who already did.

20170610_104917

One thing that really struck me post-movie was that to my knowledge, at present there isn’t a theme park tie-in, and that saddens me. Which probably seems either weird or obnoxious, but here’s my rationale.

Wonder Woman was such an inspiring movie, and I can’t imagine for a moment that I was alone in wanting more. And one thing I feel confident in saying is that if Disney would have had any involvement in the film, we’d have met Wonder Woman, or seen some stage show about her, or seen some other Wonder Woman-themed attraction inside of a week. Okay, maybe more like a month. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 just came out, and a few weeks ago we met Star-Lord and Baby Groot.

gotg_cropped

A Disney artist gave a lecture earlier this year at Epcot and his key take-away was, “if you like it, support it.” People are throwing money hand over fist at Wonder Woman. There’s talk of Wonder Woman 2. Wonder Woman seems to be the new Iron Man, in that the response has been so overwhelming that I suspect that people will insist on a Wonder Woman appearance in many if not all DC-produced films going forward.

I think the Wonder Woman and Iron Man comparison looms large for other reasons. I remember how fired up I was after the first Iron Man movie and wanted more, more, more, which surprised me because back when I read and collected comics I couldn’t have cared less about the character. Now Wonder Woman lights up the screen, and without getting spoilery, I will say that the scene the critics have been raving about actually caused tears to involuntarily fall out of my eyes during the whole sequence (and beyond). Wonder Woman was the hero I didn’t know I needed, apparently.

There has been much talk about how Wonder Woman is the hero lots of girls (young and old) need as well, and that is why I recognize the brilliance of having a venue where this new-found – or life-long – interest can be explored further. I ask this to the parents who took their kids to the film: How excited were they about Wonder Woman after the show? Wouldn’t it be great if they could meet the character, and talk to them, and have the character talk back? Purely through the Disney lens, she’d be in full character and encourage traits like bravery and courage, but in the context of everyday life. Yes, I am advocating for a trip to Santa Claus, but as an empowering experience.

I read a blog post from an author that spoke of the importance of role models in popular culture, and he was thrilled that he had a worthy example in Wonder Woman to point to, as the need arose. “Remember how brave Diana had to be when (this happened)? Be like her.”

I want to say as an aside here that I would prefer that all people could draw life lessons from all people. But I also recognize that, in the words of Les Brown, “people can’t see things for you unless you can see them for yourself.” “Women can’t” is not the same as “women shouldn’t”. I fully encourage anything and everything that removes the barrier of “can’t”, in terms of everything empowering and life-giving.

Anyway, that’s enough out of me. Here’s to more Wonder Woman movies.

Leave a Reply

