Book Update: 30% Better

The second draft is about an hour away from being finished. This means it’s on to Draft Three from there.

Well, I can’t officially say that, as the draft is still getting overhauled, but I’m coming up for air for a moment to say that yes, the second draft is about an hour away from being finished. This means it’s on to Draft Three from there.

Untitled3

Yes, that’s UP from 101,000 words the first time out. I wrote an entirely new chapter and expanded on some other ones, to punch up the action or to add clarity to what had been happening, etc. After this draft is done, it has to be printed for hard copy review (and red-penning to death) which will take nearly a ream of paper, as noted above.

It’s still not time to declare myself an author or query agents. FYI.

I will close by saying that I really, really, like these characters. I was editing an earlier chapter and the characters felt like a comfortable pair of shoes, or broken-in jeans. I read the words on the page and they just felt right. In need of editing, sure, but the essence, man, the essence! It felt bittersweet to reach the end once more. I can’t wait to experience them again in book two. Gotta get this one done, first.

/flops