Sketchbook: Forgotten

For those of you who tune in for actual art, instead of how-to diagrams, it’s time for another “I drew this” episode, featuring my $3 sketchbook and another find by way of FreeImages. Today’s installment: “Forgotten”. (Photo credit: Ben C)

20170419_081244

This was the successful stab at doing a landscape style drawing using this site. I tried some other photos but had several problems getting out of the starting gate. Long story short, I’m very much in need of the future RFA unit about relative size and positioning (proportions). Should be in a month or two, no pressure!

20170419_090959

Even then , this was the second attempt at this drawing. I literally had to hold the sketchbook up with one hand and carefully rough in the abandoned house with the other. The problem was that having the sketchbook flat on my desk made getting the roof – and other – angles correct difficult if not impossible. This adjustment made for a huge improvement.

I really wanted to break in my new colored pencil set, and the problem for me was that this was a massively grey house and the set of 32 pencils only had silver and one shade of grey. So my abandoned house looks like the sun bleached it.

Because I knew the final medium would be colored pencil, I kept the pencil sketch rough. I also used the graphite pencils for grey accents, to augment the paltry colored pencil set.

Here’s how it turned out:

20170419_120848

One of my co-workers requested a drawing “for her desk” and this is what she got. Oh well.

BTW, here’s how nutty I get with the art supplies during Work In Progress:

20170419_120852

As is often the case with creative types (snort), I’m really hard on myself when making art like this. It would be one thing if I imagined this scene and whipped it up, but as I was working from a photo I really beat myself up about getting angles, sizes, perspective, color, and everything else wrong. I guess if I wanted it to be “just so” I’d have stuck with coloring patterns.

Leave a Reply

