Original Artwork: Agnes

Well! After horsing around with various sorts of training wheels artistically, I finally did something of mine own. And before I get rolling with the pics and “making of” stories, I want to give big ups and much love to Darlene Nguyen and her fantastic site, Rapid Fire Art. I went from zero to artistic hero in the space of, mmm, 2 hours. Remember, I am fitting this in as able during my work day.

Yes, I was on the “art track” years ago (1987) and yes, I have drawn free-form portraits before. And as such, I have certain signature moves that I fall back on, whether I want to or not. So yes, they’re apparent in this sketch if you’re familiar with my prior works from back then. (Checking: So, maybe one of you? None? Fine, this is all new stuff!)

Anyway, I Googled how to draw hair using colored pencil, and found Rapid Fire Art. The tutorial made it look so easy that I whipped out my dusty and neglected sketch pad and tried it for myself. Sketch sketch sketch, add in some colored pencil action, and as they say in Texas, wa-la:

20170412_120556[1].jpg

Boom! /colored pencil drop

Next, Darlene had a tutorial for beginners. I haven’t done full-on artwork in a really long time, so I decided to regress and try it out. Behold my stapler:

20170412_120801[1]

What!

Well, me being me, I went right into “draw a female face (side view)” and here’s what happened:

20170412_112201[1].jpg

I prefer long flowy hair on my artistic women, probably because it means less “body” to draw. Plus it’s soothing and relaxing to do those long flowy pencil lines.

20170412_115513[1]

After further colored pencil work, I have decided this is Agnes, one of the characters from the book I am writing. Yes, she’s so sad. But why? You’ll have to wait for the hardcover edition of the story!

#synergy

Anyway, once more, thanks a million to Darlene Nguyen for getting me off of the crutches. Not to knock coloring patterns and the like. I’ve still got a pile of them.

(Final edit of the post, same day) Here she is, after some more fine-tuning:

20170412_140847[1]

Leave a Reply

