Completed: Spider-Gwen and Batgirl Meet the Chiropractor

As mentioned somewhere around here, I have a slush pile of designs to work on stored up on Pinterest. I normally don’t use Pinterest all that much but lately I have pity for anyone on my feed because it’s been rather one-track minded these days. Anywho… I liked the Rook Brantley fan art I colored so much that I went out looking for other fan art to “assist with”, and decided literally for no good reason to search for “Spider-Gwen“.

Background: I was at a fairly local comic store a long while back and I was flipping through the posters, just to be thorough (the store is HUGE) and I happened across one for “Spider-Gwen”, which struck me as absolutely ludicrous. I looked it up later and learned about the concept of the character, and apparently it’s actually not a bad comic, but I gave up comics after my collection got swamped in a basement flood and I didn’t want to re-trace my steps.

Anyway, had I known more about the character, I would have had an inkling that Spider-Gwen… isn’t that color-tastic.

But, for some odd reason the fan artist decided to pair her up with Batgirl, so that made for a bit of contrast:

20170406_121140

(Fan art by Sara Pichelli. Coloring by me, whether she wanted my help with this or not.)

One of my comic art-loving co-workers flipped through my “done” pile (mostly the angels series) and asked why I didn’t make anything for him. Well, now this is in his collection on his cubicle wall. He declared it “dope” and “tight”, so I’ll have to up my game because I was going for “loosey-goosey” in the style of the original sketch and I for one don’t think I color like a dope. #biased

I’m not sure what Spider-Gwen and Batgirl did before posing for this sketch. Maybe Wonder Woman can give them a nice massage?

(Issue #154 – ed.)

Much more seriously, it was fun to play colorist to this unknown-to-me comic artist. I liked the collaborative aspect of it that I had to more or less “play nice” in that the finished product had to appear intentional and not like some guy came along and drew a mustache on the Mona Lisa.

Hopefully I hit close to the mark.

Keep an eye out for more “completely un-requested coloring assistance in the fan art department” hijinx on these very pages, true believers… excelsior!

Leave a Reply

